PA quilt style (design?) that seems to have been having a bit of a revival recently is the frame, or medallion, quilt. Starting with a piece of fabric that is ‘too nice to cut up’, a complicated block or piece of appliqué the quilt is then built up in rounds of pieced borders. This was also popular a few years ago when we were making Round Robin quilts – a group of quilters would each make a centre for their quilt and send it to the next person in the group (often with a note about colour choice) who would then add a border; and so on around the group until the quilts came back to their starting point.

Left: Frame Quilts - littlewelshquiltsandothertraditions.blogspot.co.uk

Defining a frame or medallion quilt

Glossary - http://quilting.about.com/od/quiltingglossary2/g/medallion.htm

Celia Eddy interview - http://www.antiquequiltdating.com/Celia_Eddy_Quilted_Planet.html

Medallion Quilt - Kim McLean's Flower Basket Medallion Quilt

UK heritage quilts

Quilt Museum - http://www.quiltmuseum.org.uk/collections/heritage

USA heritage quilts

Quilting in America - http://www.quilting-in-america.com/Medallion-Quilts

Women Folk - http://www.womenfolk.com/quilting_history/medallion.htm and http://www.womenfolk.com/quilting_history/colonial.htm

The National Quilt Collection of America - http://americanhistory.si.edu/collections/object-groups/national-quilt-collection and http://americanhistory.si.edu/collections/search/object/nmah_556285

Quilt Index - http://www.quiltindex.org/index.php

Antique applique medallion quilts

Eye On Elegance - http://eyeonelegance.dar.org/node/23

Barbara Brackman - http://barbarabrackman.blogspot.co.uk/2016/06/baltimore-album-quilts-medallion-sets.html

Patterns from history - http://www.patternsfromhistory.com/colonial_revival/basket_medallion.htm

Modern medallion quilts

Pinterest - https://uk.pinterest.com/explore/medallion-quilt/

Jinny Beyer - https://www.jinnybeyer.com/quilting-with-jinny/quilt-gallery/detail.cfm?instanceID=8E665FF5-DA62-50CC-AF22F07DB5B76E0E

Sew alongs

Medallion Quilt, Catbird Quilt Studio

Sew Mama Sew - http://www.sewmamasew.com/2014/04/mini-medallion-quilt-tutorial-sew-along/ 

Bloomin Workshop - https://bloominworkshop.wordpress.com/medallion-quilt-along/

Patchwork Posse - http://www.patchworkposse.com/medallion-quilt-along/

Melanie of Catbird Quilts - https://catbirdquilts.wordpress.com/medallion-lessons/ and https://catbirdquilts.wordpress.com/medallion-sew-along-posts/